Orlando DUI Lawyers
If you or someone you know was arrested for DUI in Orlando, Florida, you need an attorney on your side to defend your rights and protect your interests. While our legal team is happy to answer your questions and address your concerns during a free initial consultation, we have also included some frequently asked questions for your convenience.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
What are the penalties for a first DUI offense in Florida? For a first DUI conviction, a defendant may face the following penalties under Florida law:
- Fine of up to $1000
- Imprisonment of up to 6 months
- DUI School
- Probation for up to 12 months
- 50 hours of community service
- Vehicle impoundment for 10 days
Am I going to have to go to jail? Although a jail sentence of up to 6 months may be imposed for a first DUI conviction, this is rarely what actually occurs. Most jurisdictions have mandatory minimum sentences that they impose, but in some cases your attorney may be able to work to ensure that you can avoid imprisonment altogether by negotiating treatment or community service in lieu of jail time.
Will my license be suspended? If you are convicted of DUI in criminal court, your license will be suspended for a set period of time. If you are arrested for DUI, you will also be given a notice of suspension and if you do not schedule a hearing to challenge this suspension within 10 days, your driver’s license will be automatically suspended.
Can my attorney help me at my license suspension hearing? Yes. An Orlando DUI attorney at Finebloom & Haenel can represent you not only through the criminal process but also at your hearing with the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (commonly referred to as a DMV hearing). In doing so, an attorney can help you keep your driving privileges.
Contact Finebloom & Haenel today to discuss your Orlando DUI charges with an experienced criminal defense lawyer.